Stop Bill HB1325

Dear Concerned Citizen,

We are all concerned about how our children are treated, especially our youngest from birth to 5 years old. Psychiatry right now in the U.S. has labelled and prescribed psychiatric drugs to over half a million kids aged 0-5, more now, as those are 2015 statistics. That is our local Pro Baseball team’s stadium filled up over 10 times with children 0-5.

Here in Washington State, our legislature is working on a bill – HB 1325 implementing policies related to children and youth behavioral health which aims to increase the mental health system resources to push towards our youngest – from infant to five years old giving them psychiatric labels that can often lead to psychiatric drugging. The bill will increase the intake and assessment of children in the child’s home and community settings and requires providers to use the DC:0-5 Diagnostic Classification of 

Mental Health … of Infancy and Early Childhood.

This bill had a public hearing on January 27th, where Citizens Commission on Human Rights testified against the bill. The bill is now in the House Appropriations Committee awaiting scheduling for a hearing. 

You can review the current status of the bill online: Link to HB 1325 on Leg.wa.gov

What you can do:  Here are what we can do against the bill – what you can tell your legislators:

  1. Please vote NO against HB 1325 – we should not fund a system of providing psychiatric drugs to youth aged 0-5, this is not what our children need.
  2. You are against the psychiatric labelling and drugging of our youth aged 0-5 with drugs that are untested on youth at those ages.
  3. Psychiatric labels are not objective, and no medical test exists to show anything is wrong with the brains of these very young children and the state is not mandating medical testing to identify known issues that can exacerbate and even cause an emotional crisis.
  4. The first thing infants and youth need who are experiencing emotional issues is a medical diagnosis by a competent, non-psychiatric medical doctor. The legislature must resist the push to overmedicate in favor of providing meaningful protections for parent and children.
  5. If you have questions about the bill or want to talk further, please email me cchrseattle@outlook.com 

Tell your legislators:  Contact the legislators in leadership positions in both parties:

  1. Comment on this bill online: Link to comment on HB 1325 
  2. Contact all legislators in House Appropriations and Leadership positions with your message:

House Appropriations Committee Leaders

Name

Email

District

Party

Appropriations

Rep. Chris Corry

chris.corry@leg.wa.gov

14

R

App Asst Rank Minority

Rep. Kelly Chambers

kelly.chambers@leg.wa.gov

25

R

App Asst Rank Minority

Rep. Timm Ormsby

timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov

3

D

App Chair

Rep. Drew Stokesbary

drew.stokesbary@leg.wa.gov

31

R

dApp Rank Minority 

Rep. Steve Bergquist

steve.bergquist@leg.wa.gov

11

D

App Vice Chair

Rep. Mia Gregerson

mia.gregerson@leg.wa.gov

33

D

App Vice Chair

Rep. Nicole Macri

nicole.macri@leg.wa.gov

43

D

App Vice Chair

House Democrats Leadership

Name

Email

District

Party

Leadership Democrats

Rep. Laurie Jinkins

laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov

27

D

Speaker

Rep. Tina Orwall

tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

33

D

Speaker Pro Tem

Rep. John Lovick

john.lovick@leg.wa.gov

44

D

D/Speaker Pro Tem

Rep. Pat Sullivan

pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov

47

D

Majority Leader

Rep. Lillian Ortiz-Self

lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov

21

D

Maj Caucus Chair

Rep. Monica Jurado Stonier

monica.stonier@leg.wa.gov

49

D

Maj Floor Leader

Rep. Marcus Riccelli

marcus.riccelli@leg.wa.gov

3

D

Marority Whip

Rep. Larry Springer

larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

45

D

Dep Majority Leader

Rep. My-Linh Thai

my-linh.thai@leg.wa.gov

41

D

Maj Cacus V/Chair

Rep. Melanie Morgan

melanie.morgan@leg.wa.gov

29

D

D/Maj Flr Leader

Rep. Alex Ramel

alex.ramel@leg.wa.gov

40

D

D/Maj Whip

Rep. Emily Wicks

emily.wicks@leg.wa.gov

38

D

Asst Maj Whip

Rep. Bill Ramos

bill.ramos@leg.wa.gov

5

D

Asst Maj Whip

Rep. Davina Duerr

davina.duerr@leg.wa.gov

1

D

Asst Maj Whip

House Republicans 

Leadership

Name

Email

District

Party

Leadership Republicans

Rep. J.T. Wilcox

jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov

2

R

Minority Leader

Rep. Joel Kretz

joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov

7

R

Dep Minority Leader

Rep. Paul Harris

paul.harris@leg.wa.gov

17

R

Minority Caucus Chair

Rep. Jacquelin Maycumber

jacquelin.maycumber@leg.wa.gov

7

R

Min Floor Leader

Rep. Dan Griffey

dan.griffey@leg.wa.gov

35

R

Minority Whip

Rep. Gina Mosbrucker

gina.mosbrucker@leg.wa.gov

14

R

Min Caucus V/Chair

Rep. Brad Klippert

brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

8

R

Min Caucus Vice Chair

Rep. Drew MacEwen

drew.macewen@leg.wa.gov

35

R

Asst Min Flr Leader

Rep. Chris Corry

chris.corry@leg.wa.gov

14

R

Asst Minority Flr Leader

Rep. Jenny Graham

jenny.graham@leg.wa.gov

6

R

Deputy Min Whip

Rep. Cyndy Jacobsen

Cyndy.Jacobsen@leg.wa.gov

25

R

Asst Min Whip

Rep. Joel McEntire

Joel.McEntire@leg.wa.gov

19

R

Asst Min Whip

Steven Pearce

Director

Citizens Commission on Human Rights

Speak Your Mind

*